Eligibility, Elections, and FAQs

WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
WhatsApp Channel Join Now


The Vice President of India is the second most important person in the government after the President. If something happens to the President, such as he is unable to do his job or he passes away, the Vice President takes over and does his job. The Vice President serves for five years, but can serve for a longer period if necessary. We have a list of all the people who have been Vice President before and also the rules for becoming Vice President. We also have information about how the Vice President is elected and what he can do.

Vice President of India

The Vice President of India (IAST: Vice President of India) is the head of state of the Republic of India, i.e. the vice president of the President of India. The office of the Vice President is the second highest constitutional office after that of the President and is second in the order of precedence and first in the line of succession to the presidency. The Vice President is also the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

The constitutional duties of the Vice President include naming various domains. In the absence of the President, the Vice President takes charge. You keep the government stable during transitions by continuing to perform executive duties. The Vice President helps the National Development Council in planning and making reforms.

First Vice President of India

Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was the first Vice President of India and a prominent figure in the field of philosophy and education. His tenure from 1952 to 1962 was an important period for India's developing democracy. He served two consecutive terms i.e. 1952 to 1957 and 1957 to 1962. Dr. Radhakrishnan's role went beyond a mere formality and reflected his intellectual capacity and deep understanding of the cultural ethos of the country. His influence as a scholar and philosopher added a unique dimension to his position.

List of Vice Presidents of India till now

The list of Vice Presidents of India includes all individuals who have served in this capacity throughout history. Here is the table of tenure of the Vice President of India:

Vice-President of India Term of office
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
  • 13 May 1952 – 12 May 1957
  • 13 May 1957 – 12 May 1962
Zakir Hussain 13 May 1962 – 12 May 1967
VV Giri 13 May 1967 – 3 May 1969
Gopal Swarup Pathak 31 August 1969 – 30 August 1974
BD Jatti 31 August 1974 – 30 August 1979
Mohammad Hidayatullah 31 August 1979 – 30 August 1984
R.Venkataraman 31 August 1984 – 24 July 1987
Shankar Dayal Sharma 3 September 1987 – 24 July 1992
KR Narayanan 21 August 1992 – 24 July 1997
Krishna Kant 21 August 1997 – 27 July 2002
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19 August 2002 – 21 July 2007
Mohammad Hamid Ansari
  • 11 August 2007 – 11 August 2012
  • 11 August 2012 – 11 August 2017
Venkaiah Naidu 11 August 2017 – 10 August 2022
Jagdeep Dhankhar 11 August 2022 – Incumbent

Qualification for the post of Vice President

  • be a citizen of India
  • Must have completed 35 years of age.
  • Be eligible for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • To be eligible, a candidate must not be a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • He should not hold any office of profit

List of All President of India

election process

The Vice President of India is elected by an electoral college. In which only members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha can vote. Apart from the elected members of both Houses, nominated members from the Anglo-Indian community are also allowed to vote. To win the election, a candidate must get at least 393 votes (more than 50% of the votes) out of 785 votes, which is the combined number of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

Role and Responsibilities

According to the Constitution of India, the Vice President is the 'ex-officio' Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. The role of the Vice President is to assist the President in being the designated head of the country. It should always be remembered that the post of President and Vice President cannot be given to one person.

The Vice President is responsible for more than just administration. By acting as official commentators, they influence policy and the media. The National Development Council has special influence on the expansion strategy of the state. His participation reflects his dedication towards national and international development. The Vice President is important as the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. This places him at the center of Parliament. Committee meetings and Senate protocol are the purview of the Vice President, the second-highest official of the Senate. Parliament passes laws that benefit the country because of its impartiality and ability to weigh opposing views.

Powers and functions

The Vice President of India is the second highest ranking dignitary of India, after the President, and certain powers are attached to the Vice President. These are:

  • In case of temporary absence of the President due to illness or any other cause, the Vice President will take charge of the functions of the President.
  • Due to the death of the President, impeachment or any other reason. The Vice President will assume the duties of the President until a new President is elected and begins holding office.
  • According to the Constitution of India, the Vice President is the 'ex-officio' Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

The Constitution of India, 1950 does not specifically provide for the office of the Vice President in its functions. The Vice President must support the President of India. However, this post has its own importance in enriching the political system of a democratic nation. The concept of Vice President was taken from America. The people who framed the Indian Constitution laid down certain provisions for the Vice President under Article 63, which makes his post mandatory.

Sharing is caring!


WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
WhatsApp Channel Join Now

Leave a Comment